Baron Waqa elected as Nauru’s new president


Member of Boe Honourable Baron Waqa has been elected as president of Nauru at a sitting of parliament on Tuesday 11th June 2013.

Two nominations for president were put forward for Mr Waqa and former finance minister Hon Roland Kun. Mr Waqa won the vote 13 to five.

President Baron Waqa became a member of Cabinet in the fifteenth parliament in 2003 and subsequent Cabinets. Over the years, he has held the portfolios for health, education, Rontel and public works.

Following the election of the president, members took turns in offering congratulatory messages and words of appreciation to their respective constituencies.

Earlier that morning (11 June) the new members were sworn in to the 21st parliament before Judge John von Doussa. After which members proceeded to elect a speaker and deputy before taking a short recess.

Former president and speaker Ludwig Scotty and former finance and foreign minister Dr Kieren Keke were nominated for speaker. Mr Scotty defeated Dr Keke 14 votes to five.

New MP Ranin Akua was elected unopposed to be deputy speaker.

Parliament is adjourned until Thursday 13 June 2013.

Source: The Government of the Republic of Nauru Press Release

Published on 13/06/2013

Top of the page