Council of the European Union

Role: Voice of EU member governments, adopting EU laws and coordinating EU policies

Members: Government ministers from each EU country, according to the policy area to be discussed

President: Each EU country holds the presidency on a 6-month rotating basis

Established in: 1958 (as Council of the European Economic Community)

Location: Brussels (Belgium)

Website: Council of the EU

Published on 24/05/2016

Top of the page